26 Municipal Committees have no fire brigades

 Despite tall claims by the state government for overall development, 26 out of 30 Municipal Committees of Jalandhar region do not have the facility of fire brigade.

Recently different incidents of fire have destroyed many acres of standing wheat crop in the region. Besides crops, fire sometimes claims properties worth lakhs of rupees in various incidents.

It has been learnt that though the Department of Local Bodies make several claims of modernising the MC workings, but only Phagwara (2), Nawanshahar (1), Hoshiarpur(2) and Kapurthala(1) have a total number of six fire tenders while the 26 different towns including Phillaur, Goraya, Banga, Talwara, Mukerian, Dasuya, Tanda,Garrdiwala, Hariana, Bhogpur, Mahilpur, Sham Chaurasi, Garh-Shankar, Balachaur, Rahon, Nakodar, Noormahal, Sultanpur-Lodhi, Dhilwan, Bholath, Begowal, Alawalpur, Adampur, Lohian, Shahkot and Kartarpur are still deprived of the major need of fire brigade services even after 65 years of Independence.

This entry was posted in ,,. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Use the form below to comment. No spam please!!!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...